153 volts ac?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-03-11, 11:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 22
153 volts ac?

I have never checked the voltage at any of the plugs in my house until I started wiring a detached shop and had to install a subpanel and wire the building. I am getting 153 volts at all of my recepticles in the house and in the shop. I have a underground feed from the street to a transforme box that the electric co put in when I built the house 4 years ago. Is this too high of a voltage? Am I going to burn up electronics my house?? thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-03-11, 11:26 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,023
Yes...if your reading is accurate...it's too high. It should be 120V +/- 10%. You should check across a 240V line and see what that says....same standards apply.

I'd call the PoCo and ask them to have someone check it out. Some electronics won't care...other things may really care.
 
  #3  
Old 12-03-11, 11:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 22
False alarmn. Bad meter. I checked with two different meters and got 122. thanks
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-11, 07:15 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,251
FWIW, the meter may be measuring peak AC as opposed to RMS. Technically, 120v is around 170v peak. 110v is 155v peak. So your meter may just be too smart for its own good.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes