Old House with weird Wiring (3-Way Switch)

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-11, 09:19 PM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 351
Old House with weird Wiring (3-Way Switch)

I have a friend who just moved into a house built in 1927 and I am trying to replace a couple of switches (3Way) and there is only a 14/2 (No Ground) but it is of the "Romex" Type

I found a diagram on the web of what I am dealing with



I am just want to get the light working but it seems that this is no longer wired to code as the neutral is switched is there a way to get this to code without rewiring (I only need one location as the two switches are only about 10FT apart anyway)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-11, 09:49 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
At the location you want to eliminate the switch connect the C to the neutral wire. At the switch location connect a regular switch from C to the "hot" line. Insulate the unused wires.
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-11, 01:58 PM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 351
Thank You Furd that worked perfectly
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes