Motion sensor and transformer issue!

Old 12-05-11, 08:55 PM
Motion sensor and transformer issue!

Try to bare with me because I'm a new at this. I'm using a motion sensor to control lights but the lights are 12v and the sensor outputs 120v. What I'm thinking is that the transformer(120v to 12v) will power the lights but 'only' if the motion sensor closes the transformers 12v output loop. Is there a powered switch for this by which the switch will only change(completing the 12v light loop) if sensor goes off and activates the switch?
To clarify, this transformer gets power(from an outlet) and has two leads coming out to power garden lights(12v, 300w max) but the sensor has to decide whether the lights get their power from the transformer. Can this type of transformer work for this? Am I on the right track?

Sorry this was wordy but I'm a beginner. Some other info is that the sensor supplies 300w max just like transformer but the volts are too high for the lights. If I connect a simple 120v/12v transformer to the sensor output will the lights still get the 300w and I can forget about the transformer I have altogether?
Thank you for your time.

Last edited by RealX1; 12-05-11 at 10:15 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-11, 04:04 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Depending on the rating of the photocell it may have to go before the transformer to make things work properly. Basically a photocell is just a switch that activates via light rather than manual input. Not sure if it would work on your situation.

Old 12-06-11, 06:03 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Chandler, I think the OP mentioned a motion sensor, not photocell.

I would attach the motion sensor before the 120v receptacle. So basically the motion sensor controls the receptacle. Then plug the transformer/lights in as you normally would.

This ensures the motion sensor gets 120v which it probably needs to work, and your transformer isn't on and buzzing 24/7.