GFCI wiring issue

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-11, 10:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
GFCI wiring issue

I tried to install one in place of a standard outlet, but it trips whenever the 3 way light switch is turned on next to it. I know GFI don't like fluorescent fixtures, but is there anyway I can make this work? Here's a drawn pic of how the wires run into the conduit box.

And a pic of how I had it wired before returning to the standard outlet for the time being. Warning large picture.
http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/5828/gfcibig.jpg
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-11, 10:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
I cannot tell how you had it wired from the drawing and/or the picture but I ASSUME that you have a "multi-wire branch circuit" (MWBC) feeding this lamp and the downstream receptacles. If that is true and one "branch" feeds the light while the other branch feeds the receptacles then you cannot use the "LOAD" connections to feed both the light and the receptacles.

If I am correct about the MWBC then you need to connect the white from the supply and either the black or the red from the supply to the LINE terminals of the GFCI. Connect the white and the black for the lamp also to the LINE connections on the GFCI. Connect the black and the white for the downstream receptacles to the appropriate LOAD terminals. This will give you GFCI protection at the GFCI receptacle and the downstream receptacles but NOT at the light fixture.

If this doesn't work then most likely there is a problem with the downstream receptacles.

If this is NOT a MWBC supplying power then you need to do a better drawing and use the proper colors from both the original configuration and what you attempted with the GFCI receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 12-06-11, 01:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
I don't think it's a multi circuit. That's when two breakers are powering a room, right? This one is on one circuit alone. I drew up a better pic of how it was wired with the GFCI. It's the same with a standard outlet in place. No idea why one of the neutrals is yellow.
 
  #4  
Old 12-06-11, 10:21 AM
SD515's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 63
Remove the neutral going to the light (cable/conduit #1) from the load side of the GFCI, attach it to the line side. Leave the neutral going to the additional outlet (cable/conduit #3) on the load side.

The GFCI is sensing the current on the neutral from the light, but doesn’t have a corresponding current on the ‘hot’ side. The GFCI is tripping due to an imbalance of current flow.

Is this all on one circuit? i.e. only one breaker controls the light and the receptacles?
 
  #5  
Old 12-07-11, 12:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Yep. Definitely only one breaker. I'll try it out later today and get back with an update. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 12-07-11, 11:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Works perfectly now. Thanks again.
 
  #7  
Old 12-08-11, 07:55 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
And thanks for letting us know how it came out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'