Wiring in unfinished basment.

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-09-11, 02:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring in unfinished basment.

What is the correct way to transition from conduit in a basment, into a wall cavity above. I am redoing a portion of my house and am down to the studs on the first floor. My basement is unfinished. I would like to run new power, in conduit, between 2 floor joists, until I get below the wall I want to enter. Then turn up into the wall cavity. Should I just leave the conduit end open inside the wall and pull the wires ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-09-11, 05:22 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Curious question....why do you want to use conduit? You will be running individual THHN wires in the conduit, so at the end you will need a junction box. Tie the wires to the wires of your NM cable, attach the NM cable using a cable clamp on the box and continue with your wiring. It would be easier to use NM cable throughout unless there is a reason you can't.
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-11, 08:05 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,941
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
If you are sleeving a cable in the conduit you will need a fitting or bushing to protect the cable. You will also need to secure the cable within 12" of exiting the sleeve.
 
  #4  
Old 12-12-11, 08:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring in unfinished basement.

Thanks for the reply. I am assuming I need to use conduit as my joists are open on the basement. So I will be running individual THHN wires from the main panel, through the conduit until I reach the spot where I want to turn up and enter the wall cavity above. So would I just need exit those wires out of the protected end of the conduit, secure the wires at the exit point, then switch to NM cable after I tie in at the first junction box ?
 
  #5  
Old 12-12-11, 10:03 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
So would I just need exit those wires out of the protected end of the conduit, secure the wires at the exit point, then switch to NM cable after I tie in at the first junction box ?
You can not exit the conduit and run the THWN/THN in the wall at all. You must place a junction box at the end of the conduit and transition to cable in that box
 
  #6  
Old 12-12-11, 11:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,489
Received 32 Votes on 24 Posts
Rather than assuming you need conduit why not check with the local electrical code enforcement office to see if type NM cable is acceptable. Very few area require conduit in residential settings.
 
  #7  
Old 12-12-11, 01:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfinised wiring.

Thanks I thing I got it now. Juction box at the end and then change to NM. I'm in Omaha, I think wires need to be in conduit in the basement. I'll double check. Thanks for the replys, it's been a big help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: