Installing 200 amp service around a gas line

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-19-11, 08:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: US
Posts: 1
Installing 200 amp service around a gas line

Hi,
First off, I'm new to the site. I've looked around a bit and found some great info, but nothing that answers my specific questions.
I'm upgrading my home to 200 amp service. I live in California, so I've got to deal with PG&E which I've heard can be a huge pain.
I want to put the new main panel and meter plug right beside the old one so that I can get it all installed, then it will be simple to switch the line at the weatherhead when its all ready.
When I opened up the wall I discovered that my gas line runs in the same location that I plan to install the meter plug. There is room to fit both in between the same studs, but am I allowed to? I would have to run the conducters from the side of the meter plug to behind the gas line to the main panel. Would that be allowed? And would it need to be in a rigid conduit or could it be in a flexible conduit?
I've attached a picture so you can see what I'm trying to do.


proposed electrical layout by anthony.sgroi, on Flickr
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-20-11, 05:30 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
I don't even see the gas line you mentioned. I don't know of any restriction of an electrical conduit being adjacent to a gas line, but I think your questions would best be presented to PG&E and your local AHJ.
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-11, 05:50 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
CJ, the gas line is shown as a vertical yellow line to the right of the new panel location.

I am not sure that you would have enough depth in the stud cavity for a cable or conduit between the meter and the panel. Cutting a large hole in the stud for the connector will remove most of the stud. IMO I would look for another way. Will the power company allow you to exit through the back of the socket?
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-11, 06:08 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
CJ, the gas line is shown as a vertical yellow line to the right of the new panel location.
Was that yellow line there before?

I am not sure that you would have enough depth in the stud cavity for a cable or conduit between the meter and the panel. Cutting a large hole in the stud for the connector will remove most of the stud. IMO I would look for another way. Will the power company allow you to exit through the back of the socket?
Agreed, the gas line will take most of the depth of the cavity. Some building authorities will not let you exit through the rear of the socket because of bending radius restrictions, you might check with AHJ and PG&E on that. Why couldn't the socket and panel be surface mounted?
 
  #5  
Old 12-24-11, 07:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,295
There is no restriction with the panel being near the gas line, but there may a restriction if the gas meter is also nearby. My jurisdiction requires a minimum 10 foot distance between the gas meter and electrical equipment.
 
  #6  
Old 12-24-11, 10:09 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
There could also be an issue when you drive the required ground rod. Where there is a gas meter, there is a high pressure gas line underground.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'