Detached Garage Subpanel questions

Old 12-22-11, 11:15 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Detached Garage Subpanel questions

I recently got married, and my new wife's residence where we are living has a detached garage with a subpanel that feeds from a 20amp breaker in the main house electrical panel. The existing garage subpanel is an outdated mess with a main breaker and 2 fuses, and uncovered, spliced wires. A true disaster waiting to happen. It's my first time doing something like this, but my gut tells me that something's gotta be done considering the existing wiring's present state. I'd like to do it myself, since danger of hurting myself seems minimal since I can shut off the power to the garage using the 20amp breaker in the main house electrical box.

I want to update the subpanel in the garage in order to make it safer. The garage isn't used as a work area - it's just for parking. I'm planning on tearing the existing subpanel out, and all the spiced wiring, and starting over. My plan is a new subpanel, 3 flourescent lighting fixtures hooked to one switch; and 3 plug outlets. There is a shed attached to the back of the garage with 3 lights, one outlet and a switch that also feeds off the garage subpanel. This all needs rewired also, and I'm planning on putting the shed on its own breaker in the garage subpanel.

My questions are:

1. Can the 20 amp breaker on the main house electrical panel feed all of this? There's no appliances in the garage, again it's just used for parking.

2. Can you recommend a subpanel for me to buy at Lowe's or Home Depot, and what kind of breakers (15 amp maybe?) do I need for the flourescent lights and the plug outlets?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 12-22-11, 12:05 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts