Wire / Cable to power guesthouse??

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-12, 10:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Wire / Cable to power guesthouse??

I'm sure this has been covered, but I didn't find it so thought I'd just ask.

This spring / summer I will be building a small 16x24 guesthouse that will be about 375 feet from the service pole breaker box. Cost is a major consideration

Although I can run the wire / cable on poles, I was planing on digging a trench and running it underground?? The primarry reason for burying the wire / cable is because the area is heavilly forested and falling trees are always a concern.

If it matters, the guesthouse will be elavated about eight feet above ground level due to risk of flooding.
The guesthouse will have all the comforts of home - TV, microwave, oven, stovetop, fridge, lights,etc.

So, for the wire / cable from the service pole box to the guesthouse box; would six gauge be suffiecient? I was planing on useing UF? Should I plan on running it through PVC pipe or can I just lay it in the trench?

I do plan on hireing an electrician to hook everything up, but hope to buy most of the materials and lay everything out myself.

Thanks....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-12, 11:02 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
The only method to calculate the service for the guesthouse would be to perform a demand load calculation.

Type UF cable can be run in conduit, but it is much harder than individual conductors.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 01-01-12 at 05:26 PM.
  #3  
Old 01-01-12, 11:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 488
Do some planning first.

You need to do a load calculation. Figure out what all your anticipated needs will be and add up the amperage. I don't see hot water on your list for example? Are some of these loads gas? Is there a well pump involved?

Distance is another problem. #6 UF is rated at 55 amps but it probably won't be sufficient. You'll have excessive voltage drop. I would also use conduit. That way you can upgrade the wiring easily if you have a problem.

Hope it helps.
 
  #4  
Old 01-01-12, 04:53 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,391
You didn't mention heat or air-conditioning. These should be included in your load calculations.

Cost is a major consideration
Pulling UF cable through conduit is not only difficult, but an unnecessary expense.
 
  #5  
Old 01-01-12, 05:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Rather then UF aluminum mobile home cable may be a better choice.
 
  #6  
Old 01-02-12, 11:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Thanks for the input - yes, much planing to be done and I'll start with doing a load calculation and go from there. Alot of good info on this site, glad I found and maybe I can help out at some point....

Byron
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes