CAT-5 for doorbell?l

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-12, 10:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 390
CAT-5 for doorbell?l

I already have a roll of CAT-5 cable at home, can I use this for a new doorbell install?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-02-12, 10:25 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,043
Sure. I always twin a pair for each conductor. Example: blue/blue-white twisted together as a single conductor and red/red-white twisted together as the second conductor.
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-12, 11:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 133
Not if you are using 120 volts. 12, 24 v is OK.....
 
  #4  
Old 01-03-12, 12:42 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
I would run regular thermostat wiring. Phone cable is only 24 gauge.
 
  #5  
Old 01-03-12, 03:57 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I would run regular thermostat wiring. Phone cable is only 24 gauge.


Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ne...#ixzz1iRzjPkOu
I thought 24AWG was good for 1 amp? (at 24v)
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-12, 05:51 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
I was looking at it from a voltage drop perspective. When you only start out at 12 volts it is critical to minimize your loses.
 
  #7  
Old 01-03-12, 07:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
I've run into a couple of situations where I've thought fusing the secondary on the transformer would have been a good idea to protect the downstream wire, which is typically 18 AWG. That would be even more of a concern with 24 AWG.

One 24 AWG conductor has a cross-sectional area of 0.205 sq mm, so two would be 0.410, right? That's the same as 21 AWG. 18 AWG is 0.823 sq mm.

For my doorbell wiring I used 16 AWG, which is 1.31 sq mm.

Questions for somebody with more knowledge:

1. If the (30, 40, or 50VA) doorbell transformer is shorted at the far end of the secondary circuit, what AWG wire is needed to allow the unfused secondary of the transformer to fry itself, without damaging the conductors & insulation of the secondary circuit?

2. What size fuses should protect 24, 22, 20, 18, and 16 AWG?

Area source:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_wire_gauge
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-12, 08:53 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,383
I believe regular bell wire used to be available, but most often I used to see 18 gauge thermostat cables used for door bell wiring.
 
  #9  
Old 01-05-12, 08:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,093
Choose a fuse for the transformer secondary to match the output of the transformer, for example a 50 va transformer with a 24 volt output will deliver 2 amps so use a 2 amp fuse.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes