how to find master cut-off for breaker box ???

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-12, 08:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: us
Posts: 31
Question how to find master cut-off for breaker box ???

location: condo loft apartment.

im adding a new dedicated 15amp circuit (new run) for an array of track lights that ive installed.

im trying to get everything ready and pre-staged/prepped for when the electrician arrives to feed the new 14# cable into the breaker box and install it to a new 15amp breaker.

i removed the cover from the circuit breaker to inspect, and noticed there is not a cut-off switch for the breaker box. is there supposed to be? im completely unfamiliar, but just looking to find out how one disconnects power to the breaker box such that a new circuit can be added?

im waiting to hear back from my condo board whethre there is some sort of master cut-off in the utility room that houses all of the meters for all of the apartments... any ideas?

im sure the electrician will be able to perform this, but i just wanted some information prior to him getting here to minimize time.

thanks,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-06-12, 08:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,052
moved the cover from the circuit breaker to inspect, and noticed there is not a cut-off switch for the breaker box. is there supposed to be?
No cut off switch but there should be a main breaker if there are more than six throws (breakers) unless this is a sub from a main panel within the same building. Check around the meter and see if there is another panel.

im trying to get everything ready and pre-staged/prepped for when the electrician
Don't sweat it. He will know what to do.
 
  #3  
Old 01-06-12, 06:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,941
The electrician will know what to do, but if there is something behind a locked door, the association will have to be involved to get it open. Talking to them ahead of time is a good way to get anything like that done when the electrician is there. You don't want to pay him to wait for you to get a key or something.
 
  #4  
Old 01-09-12, 11:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: us
Posts: 31
yeah, the service room is locked so i will verify with a board member to unlock before electrician is out.

if i do this in advance, ill take a photo of the electrical meters in the service room and post back here for verification.

i just dont want to get charged for his time while trying to locate all of this -
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes