Fine installation ...?

Old 01-11-12, 07:34 AM
Fine installation ...?

What do you think of this fine installation? This is a friends' house, new build within the last 4 years. Maybe it's not a big deal, I'm not an electrician, but I would not do this....

[IMG] Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

Sponsored Links
Old 01-11-12, 07:46 AM
Installation

What are we looking at here? Was the photo made from the basement?

Old 01-11-12, 08:04 AM
Yes from basement looking up. Floor joist on the LH side and that is one of the main beams that the yellow wire is coming through

Old 01-11-12, 08:25 AM
Super Moderator
Heck with the wiring (not that it's any prize)...what about the hanger for the floor joist? Wish I could see the whole thing.

And you know why the wiring hole looks so crappy don't you? They drilled from the top...poorly. At least it looks like they used adhesive on top of the joists.

Old 01-11-12, 10:44 AM
Wiring

Apparently, there is a wall above and directly over the main beam. The hole was drilled to the side to keep the wire in the wall above but to allow the wire to miss the beam below. Just my opinion. If my assumption is true, then I see no other way to route the wire.

It may prove interesting on some other issues if we could see a view from farther back to include more of the surrounding view.

Old 01-11-12, 03:49 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
It may not alway be obvious but there is normally anothe way to get the cable into a wall above a beam. You may need to take the long way.

I can't think of too many inspectors that would have passed that on a framing inspection.

Old 01-11-12, 05:56 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I worry more about the framing problems that may exist than the cable. Not much other way to do the cable pull, and it isn't against any code. The joist hanger is another story.

Old 01-12-12, 01:25 AM