Help with Surge Protector Wiring!

Old 01-15-12, 01:50 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with Surge Protector Wiring!

I purchased a whole home surge protector but am unclear about the wiring. There are two hot (black) wires that are supposed to be connected to "line 1" and "line 2." Does line 1 and 2 refer to bus 1 and 2 meaning I need to have a breaker on each bus dedicated to the Surge Protector?

Also, I have noticed in the service panel the breakers start out with the highest amperage on top and the lowest on the bottom. The Surge protector needs a 20amp or less. Does it really matter where it goes or did they do that just cause...

I am a novice when it comes to home electrical but very familiar with electrical in general so I am fairly confident I won't kill myself!

Sponsored Links
Old 01-15-12, 02:25 PM
F
Received 34 Votes on 26 Posts
Does line 1 and 2 refer to bus 1 and 2 meaning I need to have a breaker on each bus dedicated to the Surge Protector?
Yes.

Also, I have noticed in the service panel the breakers start out with the highest amperage on top and the lowest on the bottom.
This is convention. Some electricians think that the highest amperage circuit breakers should be closest to the incoming power but in reality it doesn't matter.
The Surge protector needs a 20amp or less. Does it really matter where it goes...?
The instructions on many whole house surge suppressors state to connect the suppressor as close to the incoming power as possible. If you can do that without a large amount of difficulty I would recommend you do. If it would be difficult then lower will probably be okay. Use a double pole (240 volt handle-tied) circuit breaker rather than two single pole (120 volt) circuit breaker and try to mount it so the wires are as short as possible.

Old 01-15-12, 03:27 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 42 Votes on 37 Posts
Good comments Furd. .

Old 01-15-12, 08:45 PM
T
Thanks Furd,