4 slot outlet


  #1  
Old 01-17-12, 08:05 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question 4 slot outlet

my son is looking to buy a house, in the dining area near a sliding door is an outlet that looks similar to a regular outlet in size, but it has 4 vertical slots in each of the 2 sections of the outlet. any ideas as to what this might be used for. I can't take it out until he actually gets in the house. Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 01-17-12, 08:09 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 994
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A picture would be helpful. Doesn't sound like any NEMA-configuration outlet I've ever heard of.
 
  #3  
Old 01-17-12, 08:27 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,251
Received 112 Votes on 97 Posts
Might be one of the older 2 wire 120 volt receptacles.
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-12, 11:37 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need to determine the type of conductors that terminate on this device; if they are Branch Circuit conductors that connect to switches and receptacles; Black / Red / White wires; or communication wires which could be many colors and in "pairs".

Obiously, this is best done if you are in-experienced in such porcedures with the Service dis-connect "Off".
 
  #5  
Old 01-17-12, 01:02 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I’m with pcboss,
it may in fact be a two wire (with no equipment ground) receptacle. You are throwing people for a loop when you say four slots. Are you saying each receptacle has four slots or one duplex receptacle as a whole has four slots?????? (Technical Note: A single receptacle has one individual face
 

Last edited by SeaOn; 01-17-12 at 01:26 PM.
  #6  
Old 01-17-12, 02:38 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I know what he's talking about, just having a hard time finding a picture.
 
  #7  
Old 01-17-12, 03:54 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
When I was a kid (long, long ago) we had a receptacle in the bathroom that was in the shape of a regular (ungrounded) duplex receptacle but it had four places to plug a cord into IF the plugs were the relatively flat plugs common to lamps.
 
  #8  
Old 01-17-12, 04:04 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #9  
Old 01-17-12, 04:09 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe I found it, yet how do you post a picture without a link? Note: The below is an old napolian type receptacle. Same as the one I post below—in my last post.

Oh well, here it “may” be [click on the picture of receptacle]:
Does anybody recognize this type of receptacle? - InterNACHI Inspection Forum

 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-17-12 at 06:13 PM. Reason: Add image
  #10  
Old 01-17-12, 04:20 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,946
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had one of those outlets found in the second link in an apartment I rented. I didn't know what the heck it was for. So I tried a lamp in it and it worked. I think that was the only outlet in the room.
 
  #11  
Old 01-17-12, 04:27 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
both of the below are the same. I believe one is duplex, and the other is single.
File:Combo-outlet.jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

and
Does anybody recognize this type of receptacle? - InterNACHI Inspection Forum

 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-17-12 at 06:10 PM. Reason: Add image
  #12  
Old 01-17-12, 07:56 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post #9 has what I'm thinking.
 
  #13  
Old 01-18-12, 05:46 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,768
Received 31 Votes on 28 Posts
Reply?

Master1, are any of the photos above representing what you are asking about in your original post?
 
  #14  
Old 01-18-12, 08:46 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
going with your description,it would be a duplex with 4 slots per face, it looks like you could plug 4 very flat cords,1/2" into it. I'll have to wait and get a pic. when we get back into the house. couldn't find anything like it on the web. Thanks
 
  #15  
Old 01-19-12, 05:45 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
going with your description,it would be a duplex with 4 slots per face, it looks like you could plug 4 very flat cords,1/2" into it. I'll have to wait and get a pic. when we get back into the house. couldn't find anything like it on the web. Thanks
I know what he's talking about now, I just need to find a pic. I know the receptacle was made from GE. I'll need to wait until I get home, as this filter is holding me back.
 
  #16  
Old 01-19-12, 12:17 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,807
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I know what you are talking about and that is a old school quad duplext receptale they don't make that anymore historywise.,

IMO it will be wise to ditch that out due the age and the tighteness of the blades is loose and can cause the issue however .,

You have to be carefull due most older wiring in the older homes useally are not grounded so only two legit way you can do with old school wirings is use the 1-15R aka two blade recpetale or go with modern 5-15R aka three blade receptale but use the GFCI for this and use the tag say " No equiment ground " that is the only way it can meet the code.

Merci,
Marc
 
  #17  
Old 01-22-12, 08:21 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 30
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
got a pic, insp. agreed with what u were calling it thanks for your time. can't seem to get pic on post though Pictures by master144139 - Photobucket
 

Last edited by master1; 01-22-12 at 09:13 AM. Reason: add photo
  #18  
Old 01-22-12, 08:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: