Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Bathroom outlet and light fixture not working - No power in the Bathroom

Old 01-20-12, 07:17 PM
I
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone, This is probably a really basic problem for most of you, but I'm new to this. I have loads of experience with DC but none with AC. Here's the problem...

I want to change my Elecrical Light fixture above the bathroom mirror in the bathroom but I didn't turn off the breaker switch. I couldn't find the correct breaker as they seem to be labelled wrong. I plugged a lamp into an outlet to provide some extra light while I was working. i disconnected the black and white wires. Finally, I noticed a copper ground/shield wire from the wall (couple with the white and black wires) and I disconnected it as well. That seems to be the problem. When I disconnected the shield wire, the lamp I had plugged into the bathroom outlet turned off. I completed the installation and grounded the shield wire to the new bracket. However, the outlet and the light fixture still have no power.

Some of the other posts were saying that it's most likely a GFI, but i don't have one in the bathroom. In addition, the circuit breaker did not trip, however I reset all of them and still no luck.

Can anyone help me with this? Thanks.

Old 01-20-12, 07:27 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I noticed a copper ground/shield wire from the wall (couple with the white and black wires)
Correct term is just a ground wire.

When I disconnected the shield wire, the lamp I had plugged into the bathroom outlet turned off.
That should not have caused the light to go out. The grounds only function is safety.

Some of the other posts were saying that it's most likely a GFI, but i don't have one in the bathroom.