Trouble with electrical outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-21-12, 11:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trouble with electrical outlet

Hey guys,

I seem to have trouble with a few electrical outlets in my basement. The wire coming out of the Panel is connected to an outlet and from that outlet to an other which is fine up to now. After, all the other outlet indicate me that i have a Hot Neutral Reverese. So there what i have now. The problem starts at the third outlet ( that is where i have the bad indication) Both hot wire are connected to the hot side and the white wire to the white side on all outlet. The incoming ground wire is going to the outlet and the outgoing ground wire to the metal box. All the outlet are wired the same but in some exception, the black wires are switch between each other both on the hot side and the bridges between the black wire terminal on the outlet are still there so the location of the black wire shouldnt matter. So now what? I am not sur about that since the trouble starts at the third outlet. Any suggestion?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-12, 12:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
It does not matter if the conductors are not paired with the incoming on the top screws and the outgoing on the bottom screws. What matters is that the black wires are on the brass side and whites on the silver.

The grounds should connect to both the box and the device, not one to the box and the other to the device.

Are the wires stabbed into the back of the device? If so move them to the screws on the sides. The problem may also be just upstream of the receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-12, 04:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello

Well there is no color on the screws. The outlet is label at the back Hot and White. The blacks are on the Hot and Whites are on white. All the outlets are wire the same. So that throws me out a bit. The first two on the line works fine. From the third on, not so much.
The wires are on the side screwed in.
There is six outlets on that line and that`s it. I would of think a simple line with outlets install in series would be so complicated... really.

I will look into the ground situation but since the first two that are working properly are connected the same way, so i didnt expect to be the problem.
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-12, 04:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
The receptacles are wired correctly color-wise.

I would replace the receptacle with the problem or double check the connections again.
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-12, 04:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yep

Yep i was thinking abour replacing them. They are not very expensive and this will rule some stuff out. by replacing them i will in the same time make sure the connection are made properly.

Thanks and i will let you know how it turns out.
 
  #6  
Old 01-24-12, 06:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello,
I replace the first on on the line that showed me the problem and it's showing me the same problem. A guy at the store told me that i should just turn the outlet upside down and the problem would be fix. That doesnt make any sense to me because i never saw an outlet with the ground screw at the top. I just dont know what to do next. See, the red light on my tester is so dim that i am not even sure that it's actually on. I am starting to wondering if the red light that i see is coming from the amber light inside the tester. But anyway, I think my next step will be to take all the other outlet from the circuit and see what will be the indication on that third outlet if it's configure as the last of the line. If i am good then i will go to the 4rth one and do the smae. Is that sounds good or it's point less and i should call someone?

Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 01-24-12, 06:49 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Turning the receptacle 180 degrees will not change anything. The conductors are wired to colors, not orientation.

If you are comfortable in the panel it might be time to look for a loose connection and check the breaker output. If not call someone.
 
  #8  
Old 01-24-12, 06:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i didnt think that going in the panel would be a solution since the first two outlet from the panel are working great with no issues. it's the remaining on that line that causes the problem. I would think that if there is a problem in the panel, all of them would be screwed up right?
 
  #9  
Old 01-24-12, 07:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wehn i said turn the outlet upside down, he meant that connect the neutral on brass and the Hot on Silver... Sorry if i was missleading on that.
 
  #10  
Old 01-24-12, 07:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,593
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Hot Neutral Reversed

Check the connections of the down stream cable at the last good receptacle. The reversed connections could be there.
 
  #11  
Old 01-24-12, 07:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello
Well like i said earlier, all are connected correctly as per indication on OUtlets. Black on Hot and White on Silver. The first two on that line of seven electrical oulet work fine. the problem are the other 5. I recheck the cabling so often now that it's not even funny... pcboss told me to check the panel so i will probably do so but since the first two are working fine, i am not sure what to think about that. I am on the verge of calling an electrician. But spending 200 on a stupid wiring problem is making me sick. It's one wire from the panel, with six outlet connected to it. How simple can it be? Somehow, it's starting to make me a bit mad... haha!!
 
  #12  
Old 01-24-12, 08:02 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
OK, the problem is not in the panel since you confirmed that the two are working correctly.

Can you remove the one (3rd?) receptacle and wire nut the connections and then check the downstream devices?
 
  #13  
Old 01-24-12, 09:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will try that tonight.

Thanks
 
  #14  
Old 01-24-12, 06:33 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,236
Received 39 Votes on 31 Posts
Is it possible that what you think is the third receptacle is really the fourth and that the third device is either hidden or in a different room or even in the attic or basement?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: