What types of cable

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-22-12, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: united states
Posts: 39
What types of cable

I will be wiring my house soon. i also want to run any media cables. I know I want HDTV and Fast internet. I guess I will run CAT35 for the internet and regul;ar cable TV wire for the TV. Any other suggestions?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-22-12, 01:43 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,849
Cat 35? Maybe you mean CAT6? Or CAT5? Go 6 for now.....some differences between 5 and 6..though I think it depends on the network speed.

As to the TV...what to you mean by regular cable tv wire? Believe RG6 Quad is the standard.....
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-12, 03:36 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
-If it was me, i would install CAT6 and RG6 for areas I believe will need them. Note: This is not to say CAT5E is not a good cable, but it’s to assume things will progress and CAT5e will step further down (Example: Cat3). If you are on a tight budget, then go with CAT5E, and you should be ok. Just note my opinion.
-The only place you’ll need an HDMI cable is at an entertainment space. This cable will need to be rated for in wall use. Run as many as needed. If you plan to have audio/video equipment remote from your TV space (I wouldn't go over 15 feet. If you want to hide equipment, then build a space as close as possible to your entertainment center.), then you shouldn’t have a problem finding a cable long enough to reach a reasonable length.
-In a nut shell, plan plan and plan more. Also, do not count on wireless—as it is faulty at times. I have it for my TV,and the signal isn’t dependable. I can care less about all the positive hype on wireless. Wireless is great, but at times, it could be your worse enemy!!! So, if you have a TV that has the wireless feature, drop a CAT cable behind it any how—trust me.
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-12, 06:57 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,350
You may want to consider adding a conduit between the entertainment center and the TV for the component cables.

Also check out the flush mount in-wall TV boxes from Arlington. aifittings.com
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-12, 07:20 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
You may also want to consider running optical cables for the audio.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'