European to American help

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-23-12, 02:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
European to American help

I have some European appliances, and I need them to work asap. I bought a step up/ down transformer specifically designed to convert European to American and vice-versa. The appliance says it runs at 230 volts. The transformer has various inputs. I have tried both the 220 & 240 v inputs, with the 110 v output. The transformer is rated for 500 Watts, and the appliances run at about 300. Why isn't this working? Also note that the instructions say that if you live in a 110 v country then the input should be selected at 220 v if that helps differentiate between the "output" and "input"
 

Last edited by butters49; 01-23-12 at 04:54 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-23-12, 02:28 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,525
Our resident expert on Euro power is marc (french277V); hopefully he'll be along to help shortly.
 
  #3  
Old 01-23-12, 03:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,147
You have now a line voltage of 120v correct? If so, your line needs to connect to the input, and the appliance to the 240v output. I think you just provided your appliance with 60 volts?? It's likely any clocks on the euro appliances may not keep correct time.
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-12, 05:03 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,633
What appliance? If it is pure resistance it might work but if it has a motor you have problems because of frequency differences.
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-12, 07:22 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
In addition to the frequency problem, it appears to me you are using the wrong input because I believe the European appliances would require 220 volts.

I have tried both the 220 & 240 v inputs, with the 110 v output
That can't be right, I don't think European appliances would run on 110 or 120 volts. I believe you are trying to hook it up backwards.

Also note that the instructions say that if you live in a 110 v country then the input should be selected at 220 v if that helps differentiate between the "output" and "input"
I think if you determine the correct output you need, the correct input will be obvious. In other words, if you need an output of 220 volts for European appliances, choose the 120 volt input while you are here in the U.S.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'