Overhead wire for 200 amp service from meter to panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-17-12, 06:51 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Overhead wire for 200 amp service from meter to panel

I just bought a rundown house that was built in the early 70's. The meter has 200 amp service on a pole about 60 feet from the house. This service is split into two 100 amp services. One goes to the house and one to a workshop. The 100 amp services are underground in 1.5" conduit, 2 hots and a ground, no neutral. I want to upgrade the panel in the house for the entire 200 amp service, and then have a separate service installed in the work shop.

I want to run the 4/0 aluminum to the house from the meter overhead because the small conduit is a PITA. My question is what type of wire do I need to go from the meter to the house overhead. I know it needs to be water and sunlight resistant, XHHW? and I've read about messenger wire to carry the weight, but I don't know exactly what I'm looking for.

I've wired many subpanels within a building, but never done anything overhead. I'll also be needing two service heads. How are they sized? Is there a particular type that I need? Also, is there a basis for how much slack to leave in the run, and how to account for it when measuring for wire length?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 03-17-12, 07:40 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,763
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
The meter has 200 amp service on a pole about 60 feet from the house.
Is the meter on the pole or the house?

This service is split into two 100 amp services.
Is there a main service panel with two 100 amp breakers to split the service? If so, where is the panel, at the pole or the house? Is there a 200 amp main breaker?

Your post was not clear. Can you clear up some details?
 
  #3  
Old 03-17-12, 07:53 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
I took it as the service is on the pole, but then feeds 2 100 amp panels remote from the pole.

Depending on the loads the OP may be looking at a 320 service with 200 to the house and a 100 to an outbuilding.
 
  #4  
Old 03-17-12, 08:35 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
0000 quadplex. SEU, IIRC.
 
  #5  
Old 03-18-12, 12:51 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Meter is on the pole and has two 100 amp main breakers, no 200 amp main. Panel is in the house. I want to change the 100 amp panel in the house to a 200 amp service from the meter at the polewith a 200 amp main breaker, new wire, ground, and panel. I will scrap the other 100 amp service to the shop and install a brand new service there that is in no way connected the the current 200 amps. Thanks again.
 
  #6  
Old 03-18-12, 07:51 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,763
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
Since the basic service is remaining at 200 amps, I would suggest 1/0 aluminum quadplex overhead and 4/0 aluminum SEU at each end. The 4/0 SEU would get a weatherhead at each end.
 
  #7  
Old 03-18-12, 09:35 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,806
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
My first question is why do you want 200 amps to the house? Are you adding a major load such as electric hear or electric on demand water heater? IF not, then I really doubt you need 200 amps to the house. I suggest doing a load calculation to see if this is even worth doing, which I doubt it is if everything was fine before.
 
  #8  
Old 03-18-12, 11:23 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why can you use 1/0 overhead? Is there a different table for amp ratings on overhead wiring?

As for the upgrade, I'm planning on an addition, hot tub, lot's of electronics, and I have ski tuning machines that pull some serious power.
 
  #9  
Old 03-18-12, 11:59 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,806
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
I suggest installing an outdoor, 200 amp panel at the pole that also has feed through lugs (square D has one that is not too much money) Otherwise you will not fine a 200 amp breaker that will connect to the stabs of a plug in buss. Then keep the 100 amp feed to the shop and run your 200 amp feed to the house.

What is serious power to you? To me it is 1000 amps or more. Please give numbers like volts, amps/watts. Is your ski machine in the shop or the house?

I still suggest a load calc. I have a 4600 sq ft house with separate shop and barn with a 200 amp service (house had a lot of electric heat which is not gone) Doing a load calc I come up with an 80 amp load.
 
  #10  
Old 03-18-12, 04:39 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,564
Received 160 Votes on 142 Posts
I'll let the pros answer the wire spec questions... but you may want to confirm with the POCO that they will install a second service to your workshop. Unless it's commercial (and zoned as such), many POCOs will only install a single service to your address.

Wouldn't want to go to all this trouble and have a surprise at the end!
 
  #11  
Old 03-19-12, 06:23 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,763
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I'll let the pros answer the wire spec questions... but you may want to confirm with the POCO that they will install a second service to your workshop. Unless it's commercial (and zoned as such), many POCOs will only install a single service to your address.

Wouldn't want to go to all this trouble and have a surprise at the end!
I'll agree with that!

eyeswideopen


Why can you use 1/0 overhead? Is there a different table for amp ratings on overhead wiring?
Yes, in free air.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: