four way switch question

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-12, 06:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 40
four way switch question

When wiring a four way switch can the source and the run to the light be at the same switch or does the source come in at one switch and then the run to the light at the last of the three switches?

Also can any of the three switches be a dimmer switch? Thanks again for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-24-12, 07:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
If you run the required number of wires you can have whatever you want. It is easiest to first draw it out on paper and then you can easily see what changes you may need to allow for the desired wire run.

Some three-way dimmers can be used in three and four way circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 03-24-12, 09:29 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
The dimmer needs to be at the location of a 3 way switch. I have never seen a dimmer that would work where the 4 way was located.

There are many ways to wire a 3 way setup. If you can provide more detail perhaps a better plan can be given.
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-12, 11:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Some three-way dimmers can be used in three and four way circuits.
I have Pass & Seymour lighted toggle 3-way dimmers. On one hallway I have a regular 4-way, lighted regular 3-way, and a lighted 3-way dimmer. So, if you can manage with only one dimmer, that should save you a few bucks and possibly some "feature interaction" confusion.

I chose the Pass & Seymour because they were cheap, had good range, and were backwire-capable.

One thing to keep in mind with most 3-way dimmers is that if it's not totally OFF or at full brightness, the other toggles will only turn the light OFF or set it to the brightness of the dimmed toggle. I think!! Too lazy to check it out right now.
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-12, 12:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Yes, with a single dimmer the other switches will only be able to select from "on" and whatever the dimmer is set to. If you want full control from all switch locations you need an electronic dimmer with remotes.

MDI06-WAL > Mural
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes