Interruptible A/C Service AC-10 Enclosure

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-27-12, 11:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Grosse Ile, Michigan
Posts: 123
Interruptible A/C Service AC-10 Enclosure

Can someone please direct me to an online link where I can buy a "NEMA 3R Enclosure (AC-10)"?

Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-27-12, 12:43 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,860
  #3  
Old 03-27-12, 06:20 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Most electrical suppliers will also carry them. Oh, online. Did you try searching google? I only got 497,00 results. I have never heard of AC-10, but 3R is an outdoor enclosure. Is that what your looking for?
 
  #4  
Old 03-28-12, 07:03 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
Interruptible A/C Service AC-10 Enclosure
I know about interruptible natural gas service, but never heard of interruptible electric service. Can you explain it a bit further?
 
  #5  
Old 03-29-12, 05:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Grosse Ile, Michigan
Posts: 123
It's a service offered by my power utility company. You can run your a/c directly from a separate meter that is radio controlled for a 20% reduction in cost. The meter can be shut down for 15 minutes at a time followed by a minimum of 15 minutes of operation; the maximum down time per day is 4 hours. The purpose is to keep total electrical grid consumption low enough to prevent blackout.

I had this service at my old house for several years and my neighbor at my new residence has it. You can monitor the down time... at my old house the meter was rarely ever shut down at all and it never exceeded 1 hour per day on very hot days when energy consumption was high. In my opinion, it's definitely worth it even for a/c alone and now I have a heat pump so I should increase my savings even further.
 
  #6  
Old 03-29-12, 07:11 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Online? Home Depot stocks them, but personally I'd go to Platt Electric Supply and ask the nice person at the counter which of the many types they stock would be the best fit for your system and meet Detroit Edison's requirements.
 
  #7  
Old 03-29-12, 07:18 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
For CasualJoe and anyone else who''s interested, this information from Detroit Edison appears to cover the interruptible electric service the OP is asking about. The details for residential service start on p. 7-15-1. Looks pretty cool (er, no, I didn't intend that)!
 
  #8  
Old 03-29-12, 07:37 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,860
Yeah...I understand now. We had that for a while back in VA. You got a credit if at any time in the billing cycle they shut off your A/C. It wasn't 20% though....more like a single $10 or $20. And it was a single credit even if they cut it off 10 times.

As I remember though...all they did was mount a small receiver that interrupted the low voltage to the condenser unit. It had a little window with red and green LEDs so you knew if they had cut it off or if you had an A/C problem when you came home to a warm house. So your air handler would still come on when cooling was called for, but the heavy load of the compressor and outside fan never did. I think there was a connection to the outside disconnect for the A/C to provide power, but they didn't really interrupt AC power at any point.

Everything was provided by the PoCo.

I'd had it about 2 yrs, when I transferred to CA and rented the house out. A year later my wife moved back and they no longer offered the program. The enclosure was still there, but it was empty of any electronics.

In the 2 years I think they turned it off maybe 3 or 4 times. And since it was in the same time frame during the hottest part of the summers...I prob got 1 or 2 credits.
 
  #9  
Old 03-29-12, 08:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Grosse Ile, Michigan
Posts: 123
Yep, you got it.

That's what the AC-10 enclosure is for. I need to provide labeled 24v wiring to the AC-10 box and then DTE comes out and attaches their remote unit to the top of the AC-10 box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'