wall mount Euro range hood

Old 03-30-12, 04:21 PM
wall mount Euro range hood

Please, we just received our new range hood. The original 50 year old range hood was manually wired, no plug. The new Euro style comes with an electrical plug.
I am wondering if I could attach a new elec. box to a 2x4, put a plug in there, wire the original line into the new plug and then use this plug for the new range hood? Sorry for the very plain explanation, I am not an electrician, however I can do very basic electrical work.
Thank you in advance

Sponsored Links
Old 03-30-12, 05:15 PM
Group Moderator
Yes, you can run the cable into a box, connect the wire to a new receptacle, and connect the cord from the hood to the new receptacle. The box does not need to be recessed in the wall but is required to be accessible.

Old 03-30-12, 05:56 PM
Group Moderator
I am wondering if I could attach a new elec. box to a 2x4
No need to fasten to the stud. Just use an old work box. It has ears to grab the wall and hold it in place.

Old 03-30-12, 06:03 PM
The cord should be coming out of the top of your new hood. Standard practice is to set the old-work box which ray2047 suggested into the back of the cabinet above the hood and feed the cord through a hole drilled for it in the bottom of the cabinet.

Old 03-31-12, 06:22 AM
Thank you all so much. The Range Hood is self hanging wall mounted, no cabinet. We have a soffit below the ceiling and I am planning to put the receptacle at the very top under the soffit inside of the stainless steel cover but outside of the chimney pipe.

Old 03-31-12, 09:29 AM
Sounds good if it's accessible. All plug-and-cord connections and all receptacles need to be accessible.

Old 03-31-12, 09:30 AM
Group Moderator
So long as the receptacle remains accessible it should be okay. Maybe a couple of pictures would help us determine that. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...-pictures.html

Old 04-01-12, 01:39 PM