Missing ground rod

Old 04-10-12, 05:45 PM
Missing ground rod

I've been a realtor for many years and recently had something new come up on an inspection for one of my buyers. Home was built in the late 90's and has an in-ground pool that was added after build. Inspector noted that there was proper bonding to the foundation of the pool and pool equipment, but that he couldn't find any external ground rod. Code experts: Is a ground rod needed if there is bonding to the pool foundation rebar? If so, it wouldn't be a big deal to add, but I don't want to negotiate the repair with the seller if it isn't needed.

Doug M.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-10-12, 06:37 PM
Not an expert on pools, but we need more information. Are you saying there is no grounding electrode(s) (Rod) at the pool panel, or is the inspector saying there is no rod for the pool bonding grid. Also, what section of the code are they claiming is non-compliant (Note: If they didn’t supply one, then ask for one). Note: A rod is not needed for the pool bonding grid. Also, what type of inspector. If you are saying a home inspector, then they have no authority, and you should have an electrical contractor (Note: Find a contractor who has experience with pools) inspect the grounding, and bonding of the pool. Side note: If the pool was installed without an electrical inspection, I wouldn't step foot in it, or around it, until it can be verified safe!!

Old 04-10-12, 06:45 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
A rod tied to the pool bonding grid is not needed.

If this is about a grounding electrode for the panel there may be issues. Clarification is needed.

Old 04-10-12, 06:53 PM
If you are saying a home inspector, then they have no authority, and you should have an electrical contractor (Note: Find a contractor who has experience with pools) inspect the grounding, and bonding of the pool.