Can this motor be rewired for 240 VAC?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-15-12, 11:58 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can this motor be rewired for 240 VAC?

I'm wondering if this motor can be rewired to run on 240 volts, so I can lower the amperage. http://images5a.snapfish.com/2323232...A8534%3Anu0mrj
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 04-15-12 at 02:34 PM. Reason: Fixed link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-15-12, 12:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You did not include a proper link. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...-pictures.html
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-12, 02:33 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,631
Received 208 Votes on 185 Posts
No. This motor is only a single voltage motor as listed on the nameplate.

Why do you want to lower the amps?
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-12, 05:39 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
And you won't be saving anything by lowering amps. Ohm's law shows as voltage increases amperage decreases, and vice versa. You will still have the same wattage being used regardless. I run all my shop tools that allow it on 240 volts, but purely for a faster spool up and less bog down feature. I pay the same.
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-12, 06:29 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The reason i was hoping i could lower the amps, is because the sub panel is 230 feet away. I thought if I could cut the amps in half, I could use smaller conductors.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: