Panel upgrade


  #1  
Old 04-15-12, 02:14 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Panel upgrade

I have a 150 amp panel. When I add up all of the breakers, I come up with 475 amps. Do I need to upgrade to 200 amps?
 
  #2  
Old 04-15-12, 02:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,842
Received 551 Votes on 473 Posts
No. The breakers are there to protect each individual circuit and have nothing to do with the capacity of the main service.

To find the load on your service you need to do a load calculation. (search "load calculation") Unless you have electric heat, and all electric appliances, you have very little to worry about because even then you never run them all at the same time. 150 amps is a lot of juice and if you have an average home I bet you never hit 100 amps at any one time.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-12, 02:49 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
reply to ironhand

That is exactly what I wanted to hear. Thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: