Grounding the Circut

Old 04-15-12, 06:25 PM
Grounding the Circut

Hello all,
This is my first time posting here but I read this blog weekly. I ran into an interesting situation this weekend while doing some electrical work. I am moving my washer/dryer into a closet so i had to run wiring from an existing light to an outlet so I can plug in the washer. In the process I was using my non contact voltage tester to make sure the outlet was working. As I did this, I noticed that when I put the voltage tester to the face/body of the washing machine itself the tester beeped and lit up as if there was electricity flowing through the entire machine. I thought this was odd, so I took an extension cord and plugged the washing machine into one end, and plugged it into an outlet on a different circut, when I put the tester on the washing machine again, it did not beep or light up. As a last test, I plugged the extension cord/washing machine into a different outlet (which I did not alter) on the same circuit as the first, and again as I put the non contact voltage tester to the washing machine, it lit up and beeped. Now, I am worried something is wrong with the entire circut, maybe it isn't grounded???

I tried looking everywhere as to why the voltage tester would read the washing machine as being "live" but have had no success, any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-15-12, 07:04 PM
Group Moderator
Basically a non-contact tester measures electromagnetic fields not voltage. For a pro who understands its limitations it can be a valuable tool. For an amateur it can easily run you on a wild goose chase. You can have an electromagnetic fields without any significant power.

Now, I am worried something is wrong with the entire circut, maybe it isn't grounded