Remote control for 3-way light switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-12, 09:28 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Remote control for 3-way light switch

I have a fluorescent light hooked up as a 3-way. One switch is in perfect position; the other is not, but moving it is not an option.

Does anyone make a 3-way switch with an IR remote control? I would be fine with taking out the poorly positioned switch and replacing it with the IR receiver.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-12, 10:08 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Does anyone make a 3-way switch with an IR remote control?
Heath-Zenith, for one. Comes in White (SL-6023-WH) or Ivory (SL-6023-IV).
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-12, 11:00 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I have a fluorescent light hooked up as a 3-way
Heath-Zenith, for one...
From their Tech Details:
Controls up to 300-Watt of incandescent lighting
Many of these type of switches use trickle feed through power from the device and won't work well with florescent lights. This seems to be one of those. The device you use must have a neutral and the box it is installed in a neutral if no incandescent lighting on the controlled circuit.

but moving it is not an option
Could you explain more fully. Maybe there is a way you haven't thought of.
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-12, 12:15 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could you explain more fully. Maybe there is a way you haven't thought of.
I'm an optometrist. The lighting is in my office, which is a converted house. I would like to be able to control the lights from my work area which is along a 6 foot bank of external windows. Below the windows is a cast-iron radiator. There really isn't a piece of wall available to move the switch to.

Looks like the Lutron MRF2-6ANS-WH would work? Looks like they say it would work with non-dimmable fluorescents.
 
  #5  
Old 04-20-12, 12:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
From the instruction manual:
These electronic switches require a neutral wire for operation.
So yes they will work with a fluorescent light. Do you have a neutral at the box where you are going to install.

Note a white wire may or may not be a neutral. If power comes in at a switch then there is a neutral at that switch. Do you know where power comes in, at a switch at the light?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: