Wiring size for 4 ton heat pump

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-21-12, 05:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Wiring size for 4 ton heat pump

I am wiring my house and need to Know What size wire I need to run to the outside unit of a 4ton 17 seer Carrier Heat Pump. The air handler in the attic has already been installed during the rough in so I can pull the min and max amps of of its panel. The outside unit is not in yet and my AC guy will not be in his office until Monday. Was wanting to get this roughed in this weekend. Thanks for the help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-21-12, 06:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,445
Requirements

What are the power requirements for the outside unit?
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-12, 06:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
That I guess would be a better Question. I don't know because the unit isn't here for me to look at. And Ac guy is out until Monday.
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-12, 07:08 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,282
Look for the specs on the unit online. You need to know Minimum Circuit Ampacity and Maximum Fuse or Circuit Breaker. More than likely voltage will be 240 volts.
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-12, 07:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Been trying to find this but carrier has a separate section for this info that regular folks are not privy too.
 
  #6  
Old 04-21-12, 08:31 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Been trying to find this but carrier has a separate section for this info that regular folks are not privy to
That implies that some folks are. Which model are you getting?
 

Last edited by Nashkat1; 04-21-12 at 09:14 AM.
  #7  
Old 04-21-12, 09:35 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Do you have a model number for the unit?
 
  #8  
Old 04-21-12, 10:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
Found this in a PDF for carrier 4-ton and 5-ton units.
http://www.expressoverstock.com/pdfs.../24ACB7_PD.pdf

BTU-RLA-FLA-FAN-MCA-AWG Min 60C-AWG Min 75C

48 21.20 96.0 1.3 27.80 12.00 12.00

60 23.00 118.0 1.3 30.06 8.00 10.00

So you'd probably be safe with 8 AWG if the distance isn't beyond spec.

Or, you could just put in raceway and deal with it later.
 
  #9  
Old 04-21-12, 10:34 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,282
Based on AegMEMatey's pdf post I would agree with #8 copper. Get a 60 amp A/C disconnect with or without fuses, your call.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 04-21-12 at 11:31 AM.
  #10  
Old 04-21-12, 11:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks for all of the help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes