Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Dryer Outlet 3prong to 4 with only 3 wires (beige, white, ground)

Dryer Outlet 3prong to 4 with only 3 wires (beige, white, ground)


  #1  
Old 04-21-12, 03:35 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dryer Outlet 3prong to 4 with only 3 wires (beige, white, ground)

Hello All,
So I just bought a house and bring in my dryer to find a 3 prong outlet for the 4 prong dryer plug. The old outlet is a 30A 125/250V outlet and the new one is the same. When I pull out the old outlet, I find a white wire, beige wire and the copper ground wire. The schematic for the new outlet has the x and y for the 125V feeds, then it has 2 ground spots... a sys ground and an equip ground.
Can I hook up the beige and white to x&y and then the ground to the sys ground? I am hoping i'm not going to hear that I have to rewire the darned thing.
Thank you for your help.
jef
 
  #2  
Old 04-21-12, 03:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
The dryer needs to be rewired for a three wire cord set according to manufacturers directions or the cable to the receptacle replaced with 10-3 NM-b (Romex).
 
  #3  
Old 04-21-12, 03:49 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
so rewire the dryer for a new cord OR replace the wire from the breaker box to the receptacle so can put in the 4prong? grrr... at least can rewire the dryer i guess. Thank you ray2047
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-12, 03:53 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
If you need help rewiring the dryer post back.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: