Grounding an outlet to a box

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-26-12, 07:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 305
Grounding an outlet to a box

Hello,

In my house the ground wires were never connected to the outlets. It seems the grounds were cut so there were only two inches long and connected to the metal box with a screw. Due to their short length it is difficult to connect the outlet to them. Is it acceptable to put a ground wire around a second screw on the grounded box to connect to the outlet ground? Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-26-12, 07:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,669
So long as it is a tapped hole and you use an 10-32 machine screw that is fine or you could use self threading machine screw in a drilled hole or you could use a self grounding receptacle. It is better practice to use green ground screws made for the purpose. You can't use a sheet metal screw.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-27-12 at 11:42 AM.
  #3  
Old 04-26-12, 09:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 305
I used the screw that pushes the clip on the switchbox to hold the wires down. There are no wires on the clip. Is this acceptable?
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-12, 10:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,669
I used the screw that pushes the clip on the switchbox to hold the wires down. There are no wires on the clip. Is this acceptable?
No. It should be in under a screw intended for only a ground wire. Unless it is a very old box there should already be holes in the back of the box for that purpose.
 
  #5  
Old 04-26-12, 11:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 305
I just saw that Home Depot sells 100 packs of grounding screws. I will buy that and use it, thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 04-27-12, 10:21 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Just an FYI: ground screws/holes are 10-32.
 
  #7  
Old 04-27-12, 11:43 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,669
Thanks Tolyn. Post corrected.
 
  #8  
Old 04-27-12, 12:46 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I used the screw that pushes the clip on the switchbox to hold the wires down. There are no wires on the clip. Is this acceptable?
No, but removing that clip and its screw to increase space in the box is not only acceptable, it is standard practice. And since the screw you removed is a 10-32 machine screw, you now have a tapped hole to run your ground screw into.
 
  #9  
Old 04-29-12, 07:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 305
I bought a 100 pack of Ideal green grounding screws from Home Depot. They are so awesome! I already used a half dozen already. Thanks guys!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'