Ooops H2o Tank

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-28-12, 07:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Ooops H2o Tank

OK so the hot water tank cover plate said 240 with 2x4500w elements but the tank was only hooked up to 120v So I hooked it up to 240v before knowing the elements had been switched out for 2500w 120v elements. I only turned it on the see if there was 240v at the tank and there was. After checking the elements and noticing they were 120v I switched the tank back to 120v but now the tank is not working at all.

Thoughts?

I put an Ohm meter on the contacts of the elements with the wires disconnected and had no reading.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-28-12, 07:34 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,864
I think you already know the answer.....the elements are burned out. Might only be one since only one comes on for main heating...but since you are getting no reading on both....well.

You need to change them anyway since you are now wired and ready for 240.

Are you sure all your wiring is right and adequate? Correct breaker, etc, etc?
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-12, 10:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Dang...my bad. I will change them out and yes the wire and breaker have been changed to 10/2 on 30map. Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 04-29-12, 05:45 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
I see you didn't heed my advice from your other thread.

I think I'd start by checking the actual elements in the water heater to see if they have been changed to 120 volt elements.
Regardless, you could now check the elements for continuiy with a meter, but I wouldn't bother, just change them to 240V 4500 watt elements and check your wiring, you should be good to go. Hope you also remember that your Federal Pacific panel should be replaced. At the very least, you could change your Federal Pacific breakers to Federal Pioneer. This might give you some degree of safety, but there are no guarantees.
 
  #5  
Old 04-29-12, 06:41 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
The WH will heat the water faster at 240 volts.
 
  #6  
Old 04-29-12, 07:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Yes that was good advice but I didn't get it in time. I'm learning much more about hot water heaters. I know the history with FPE panels and will address that as soon as possible.

The main concern originally was that 100a main was tripping but unfortunately it can't be changed without pulling the meter or having the utility disconnect the power.
 
  #7  
Old 04-29-12, 08:43 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
A replacement Federal Pacfic main breaker will likely cost more than a new panel. I'd take this opportunity to just replace it.
 
  #8  
Old 04-29-12, 03:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
OK so the tank is working with new 240v elements 10/2 30amp breaker.

I noticed the amp draw on the hot water was s16 to 17 amps and the 20 and 22 amps on the supply lines before the main.

One of the supply lines from the meter to the main then from the main breaker to the bus bar was considerably warmer than the other feed wire. Could this disparity be causing the main to trip?

Thanks
 
  #9  
Old 04-29-12, 03:42 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
One of the supply lines from the meter to the main then from the main breaker to the bus bar was considerably warmer than the other feed wire. Could this disparity be causing the main to trip?
Possibly, but the breaker or connections could be causing the wire to heat up as well. I would suspect the later.
 
  #10  
Old 04-29-12, 03:55 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
I suggest checking the wire connections. The heat from that can cause the main to trip even though there is no over current. This can only be done with the power off at the meter. The power company may do this free of charge.
 
  #11  
Old 04-29-12, 04:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
All the connections before and after the main are tight.
[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'