Shallow SG device box w/ external MC clamp?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-30-12, 04:51 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Question Shallow SG device box w/ external MC clamp?

I need to replace a duplex receptacle above a lavatory with a GFCI. From the face of the tile to the inner face of the opposite wall covering is ~1.5" so it will accept a shallow box or a handy box. The tile and backer board are ~3/4" thick, and the power is run in BX. Right now, that BX is secured to the existing box under a built-in clamp. A GFCI will fit in a shallow box, but not with that internal clamp in there.

Any suggestions for a box I could use to change this out that has an external clamp at the back of the end?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-30-12, 06:50 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
It this wall is open, use a 4"x4"x1 1/2" steel box and a 3/4" mud ring. Otherwise a wall case (sometimes called a device box with ears) is only 2 1/8" deep. We use them all the time to cut in receptacles in commercial jobs. Still a little tight, but better than a handy box. Just use a BX/AC/MC cable connector that uses a 1/2" KO. It clamps to the cable on the outside.

If you are going to cut it in later, put the connector on the cable so it is ready.
 
  #3  
Old 04-30-12, 07:24 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Maybe I wasn't as clear as I could have been at first, and I regret that.

This is a finished, tiled wall. There is a standard duplex receptacle in a SG device box. The depth from the face of the tile to the inner face of the other side of the wall is 1-1/2". I can't set a 1900 box without busting out a bunch of tile, and there's no depth for anything more than a flat mud ring.

The space available for the BX/AC/MC cable connector is maybe 3/4", and it's the back 3/4" of the total 1-1/2" depth. That's why I'm looking for an unusual solution.
 
  #4  
Old 04-30-12, 07:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Do you have room to slip in a metal old work box with external clamp installed?
 
  #5  
Old 04-30-12, 07:48 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Do you have access to the other side of the wall?
 
  #6  
Old 04-30-12, 08:37 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
Use a "handy" box (in quotes because they are not that handy) that has 1/2" KO on them. Use a BX/AC/MC cable connector with a locknut that uses said 1/2" holes.
Pull old box out.
Slip on connector with locknut removed.
Put in new "handy" box.
Put on locknut.
fasten box.
 
  #7  
Old 05-01-12, 05:35 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Do you have room to slip in a metal old work box with external clamp installed?
Probably. The ears on the face of the wall are no problem. What's in there now is a metal OW box, I guess. It's just that's it's shallow - has to be shallow - and has that internal clamp. So if the external clamp is in the back 3/4" of the end of the OW box, sure. What do you have in mind?

Do you have access to the other side of the wall?
Can I walk in the other room and see it? Yes.

Use a "handy" box (in quotes because they are not that handy) that has 1/2" KO on them.
I'd do this in a heartbeat, if the clamp would fit in that 3/4" wall cavity that's 3/4" back from the face of the wall, and if the GFCI would fit in the "handy" box (I agree that they aren't all that handy) with the locknut and the wires and not damage the wires. I can screw it to the back of the other side of the wall with a couple of tappets, so mounting it shouldn't be a problem.

I don't have this stuff on hand - I'll be making a run maybe later today (it's for a job this weekend). I can play around with boxes and devices at the BB store. Just trying to rewire my thinking and come back to the process with more possibilities.
 
  #8  
Old 05-01-12, 02:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Consider a "Wire-Mold" extension - box ; the back-plate of the extension-box is fastened to the outlet-box and the surface extension box, say 3/4" in depth , is fastened to the back-plate. For a GFI device you may have to "trim" the back-plate to fit the GFI device into the surface box.
 
  #9  
Old 05-01-12, 03:27 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Consider a "Wire-Mold" extension - box
Thanks for the suggestion!

The existing device is set flush into the finished tile wall of a powder room in an historic property, above the lav. If I were going to consider any extension ring it would be a weatherproof one. My intention is for there to be a GFCI-protected outlet mounted flush in that same location. I may have to install the GFCI at the next stop upstream.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes