Use 12-3 on new circuit to provide ground to old circuit?

Old 05-02-12, 12:38 PM
Use 12-3 on new circuit to provide ground to old circuit?

I'm new to the is forum, and fairly new to wiring. I'm adding some counter space to my kitchen and adding a new circuit to my panel for the GFIs over this counter. There is a half "pony" wall between my kitchen and living room where these new GFI outlets are going to be installed. There is an un-grounded circuit that feeds two existing outlets on the family room side of the wall. I plan on putting a switched light fixture down stream of these two old un-grounded outlets as well.

I have some extra 12-3 wire that I could use for my new GFI circuit. Does it make sense to use the extra red wire in the 12-3 to run a ground to the old outlets? Can I use green electrical tape to label it as a ground in the panel and the box? Does it meet code? Will it pass inspection? Is this stupid? Should I just leave the old outlets alone and have an ungrounded light fixture? It would be much easier (and cheaper) to run the 12-3 I have than buying new 12-2 for the GFIs and a separate ground to run to these old outlets.

Thanks for the help!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-02-12, 01:16 PM
Group Moderator
I have some extra 12-3 wire that I could use for my new GFI circuit. Does it make sense to use the extra red wire in the 12-3 to run a ground to the old outlets?
Not code compliant. A factory colored wire smaller then #4 can not be re-designated as ground. It must be bare or factory colored green on #14-#6 wire.