Romex in Mortar

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-03-12, 03:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Romex in Mortar

Hi -
Newbie here. I'm mounting my TV on my brick fireplace (shocker!). For power, I'm considering channeling out the mortar and running romex from a nearby wall receptacle to a flush mounted receptacle behind the TV. Then, covering the romex with new mortar.

I've read a few articles about this, but my hesitation is this....is romex alone OK to bury in mortar, or do I need MC Cable with a PVC jacket?

Done all the heat tests on the brick, etc.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-03-12, 04:30 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
-NM canít
-MC can
Just note, the cable must be attached to the box with a listed connector, and per code.
 
  #3  
Old 05-03-12, 04:32 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
No, you can't embed NM cable (aka romex) in mortar. You can, however, embed PVC jacketed MC cable.
 
  #4  
Old 05-03-12, 04:35 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
-MC can, but the location canít be damp or wet.
The MC still must be PVC jacketed. Aluminum MC cannot be used in direct contact with mortar (wet or dry) or any cementitious products.
 

Last edited by CasualJoe; 05-03-12 at 04:53 PM.
  #5  
Old 05-03-12, 04:40 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
I agree with Casual
 
  #6  
Old 05-03-12, 04:43 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
Actually, it can be installed in wet locations where any of the following conditions are met:
a. The metallic covering is impervious to moisture.
b. A moisture-impervious jacket is provided under the metal covering.
c. The insulated conductors under the metallic covering are listed for use in wet locations, and a corrosion-resistant jacket is provided over the metallic sheath.


But this isnít the case, so itís a mute point.
 
  #7  
Old 05-03-12, 05:02 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Jim, at least you aren't doing what I found on one trouble shooting escapade. The contractor, a few years earlier had run UF cable under his concrete (not buried) for his steps to the lake. Needless to say the concrete shifted inequally with the UF. Had to run it all over again.
 
  #8  
Old 05-03-12, 05:12 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
???? Doesn't under mean buried????
 
  #9  
Old 05-04-12, 03:02 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
No under means laying on the ground with the concrete poured over it in the forms
 
  #10  
Old 05-04-12, 07:39 AM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! And Wow again!!!!!
 
  #11  
Old 05-04-12, 09:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks everyone. the trick now will be locating a local supplier.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'