All Bathroom GFI Outlets are out...

Old 05-10-12, 11:22 PM
All Bathroom GFI Outlets are out...

Electrical sub-novice here, so bear with me. I noticed all the main outlets in my two upstairs and one downstairs bathrooms were not working. The two outlets upstairs have stickers on them identifying them as GFCI, but they do not have test reset buttons. The outlet downstairs has the test/reset buttons. I checked the breaker panel outside, and I have one double switch breaker marked "washer" and "Bathroom GFI". The washer switch indeed connects to my washing machine, and is working fine, and the other switch doesnt affect any other lights or outlets, so I assume it must be to the bathroom outlets. I replaced the breaker, a cutler-hammer bd2020, to no changed effect. I checked the voltage at the breaker nodes, and it seemed normal.
I would assume my next step would be to replace the outlets, but does anyone have any ideas as to why all three outlets would go down? Help me out, thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-10-12, 11:31 PM
I noticed all the main outlets in my two upstairs and one downstairs bathrooms were not working. The two outlets upstairs have stickers on them identifying them as GFCI, but they do not have test reset buttons. The outlet downstairs has the test/reset buttons.
Did you reset the GFCI receptacle in the downstairs bathroom? If the standard receptacles in the two upstairs bathrooms are GFCI protected by the GFCI receptacle in the downstairs bathroom, and that GFCI is tripped, power to all three receptacles will be interrupted without tripping the circuit breaker in the panel.

In my house the doorbell occasionally quits working. To restore it, I have to reset a GFCI receptacle in the unfinished basement.

Old 05-11-12, 06:31 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
The GFI will have the TEST and RESET buttons.

Old 05-11-12, 09:35 AM