3 phase to 1 converting

Old 05-11-12, 11:02 AM
3 phase to 1 converting

To make a long story short I bought a house a month ago, there are 2 electrical services 3 phase in the garage and 1 phase for the house.
The electrical company wants a 1000 deposit beacuse of the previous usage for the 3 phase setup. All that is hooked up is the heat( dual 15amp) and ac (ual 60 amp)that is being used. all other equipment was removed.

Can I dissconnect the 3 phase from the pole and run from the 1phase box to run the few breakers in it or does it have to be a certain type wire?
I could also just get a small breaker box and jump from the 1 phase setup to run the few breakers?

I am somewhat new to 3 Phase and not sure what direction to go towards
Thanks!

Picts
http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q...9/DSC00171.jpg
http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q...9/DSC00172.jpg
http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q...9/DSC00173.jpg
http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q...9/DSC00174.jpg

Last edited by sabsolut2081; 05-11-12 at 11:42 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 05-11-12, 11:08 AM
Three phase to a single family residence is highly unusual. Even to an apartment building it is rare unless the building has in excess of 20 or 30 units. I suspect that a previous owner had a serious shop in your garage.

No, YOU may not remove the three-phase service from the pole but you CAN get the utility to disconnect it and remove the wires from the pole to the garage. You would then need to run new wiring from the single phase house panel to the garage. Unless you are already well versed in electrical I suggest that this may not be a DIY project.

Several pictures of the existing installation may help us to help you. Instructions for adding pictures are at the top of the index page. Have both near and far pictures to allow us to see the entire installation.

Old 05-11-12, 11:11 AM
Group Moderator
All that is hooked up is the heat( dual 15amp) and ac (ual 60 amp)that is being used