Timer for outside lights

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-15-12, 02:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Timer for outside lights

Hi would like to know if a timer for outside lights can be put inside by the breaker box or inside the breaker box? Seems I have heard that it can be but don't know for sure . I live in Cincinnati thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-15-12, 02:38 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,292
If your outdoor lights are all on one circuit, it could be a simple job. If they are on several circuits, you may be better with timers that fit into the light switch boxes.
 
  #3  
Old 05-15-12, 02:42 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
No reason why you can't. It wouldn't go INSIDE the breaker box, but there is certainly no restriction on putting it near the box. IIRC there's a requirement that PORCH light switches must be in proximity to the door, but yard lights can be controlled from anywhere. The only question is are these lights on their own circuit? Because if they're not, then you'll be controlling everything else on the circuit with the timer along with the outside lights.
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-12, 06:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Then if the outside lights in yard is on a separator breaker , would the wire which is 14/2 with ground .I assume the timer would be outside the breaker box the wiring would come from light to timer then to breaker? Thanks just curious in case my wife decides she wants an outdoor light.
 
  #5  
Old 05-16-12, 07:50 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
You would place the timer between the panel and the lights.

Intermatic makes many timers to suit your needs.
 
  #6  
Old 05-16-12, 08:16 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Yes. The timer can mount in a box like any other switch.
 

Last edited by Nashkat1; 05-16-12 at 08:56 AM.
  #7  
Old 05-16-12, 08:53 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,062
Or it can come in it's own connection box.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-22-12 at 02:41 PM.
  #8  
Old 05-22-12, 02:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 25
Thanks for the information ,George
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes