UFB cable to shed

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-19-12, 07:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
UFB cable to shed

Hey guys,

I've seen a few posts containing a soup of information. I need a pretty short answer to the following question: Is it okay to provide electricity to my shed by direct underground burial of UFB cable? The ground at 18" is dry as we live on a well drained hill. Thanks in advance for info!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-19-12, 08:05 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The moisture content of the soil isn't a factor but UF-b unless GFCI protected and 20a* or less must be buried 24 inches or more.

*Note 120 volt only for GFCI protected burial depth of 12 inches for 20 amp or less cables.
 
  #3  
Old 05-19-12, 09:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Ray,

I need to run 30 amp, 240 to the tool shed. I was thinking a couple 2/10 UFB cables buried directly would work.
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-12, 09:12 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I need to run 30 amp, 240 to the tool shed. I was thinking a couple 2/10 UFB cables buried directly would work.
Only one cable can be run for the feed. Type UF-b, probably 10-3/G, to give you the four conductors you need. How far away is the tool shed?
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-12, 09:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I need to run 30 amp, 240 to the tool shed.
You will need a subpanel so you can tap the feed for both 120v and 240v. What will your loads at the shed be?
 
  #6  
Old 05-20-12, 09:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I might be saying it wrong. I have a double pole breaker ready, and want a total of 30 amps at the shed. No equipment at the shed will require more than 120v , 20 amps. So it sounds like I can bury a single UFB cable, but not two 10/2 UFB cables.
 
  #7  
Old 05-20-12, 10:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you use a 30 amp breaker at the house you will need a subpanel at the shed regardless of voltage because the largest breaker that can be used on a general purpose 120 volt circuit is 20 amp.

However there is a code approved plan B to accomplish what you want. Use a multi wire circuit on a 240v 20 amp breaker. You would use a 12-3 UF-b and split it into two 20 amp 120 volt circuits at the shed. If this sounds like what you want post back for details.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: