UFB cable to shed


  #1  
Old 05-19-12, 06:51 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
UFB cable to shed

Hey guys,

I've seen a few posts containing a soup of information. I need a pretty short answer to the following question: Is it okay to provide electricity to my shed by direct underground burial of UFB cable? The ground at 18" is dry as we live on a well drained hill. Thanks in advance for info!
 
  #2  
Old 05-19-12, 07:05 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
The moisture content of the soil isn't a factor but UF-b unless GFCI protected and 20a* or less must be buried 24 inches or more.

*Note 120 volt only for GFCI protected burial depth of 12 inches for 20 amp or less cables.
 
  #3  
Old 05-19-12, 08:06 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Ray,

I need to run 30 amp, 240 to the tool shed. I was thinking a couple 2/10 UFB cables buried directly would work.
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-12, 08:12 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
I need to run 30 amp, 240 to the tool shed. I was thinking a couple 2/10 UFB cables buried directly would work.
Only one cable can be run for the feed. Type UF-b, probably 10-3/G, to give you the four conductors you need. How far away is the tool shed?
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-12, 08:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
I need to run 30 amp, 240 to the tool shed.
You will need a subpanel so you can tap the feed for both 120v and 240v. What will your loads at the shed be?
 
  #6  
Old 05-20-12, 08:31 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I might be saying it wrong. I have a double pole breaker ready, and want a total of 30 amps at the shed. No equipment at the shed will require more than 120v , 20 amps. So it sounds like I can bury a single UFB cable, but not two 10/2 UFB cables.
 
  #7  
Old 05-20-12, 09:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
If you use a 30 amp breaker at the house you will need a subpanel at the shed regardless of voltage because the largest breaker that can be used on a general purpose 120 volt circuit is 20 amp.

However there is a code approved plan B to accomplish what you want. Use a multi wire circuit on a 240v 20 amp breaker. You would use a 12-3 UF-b and split it into two 20 amp 120 volt circuits at the shed. If this sounds like what you want post back for details.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: