Changing ovens out with different requirements

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-20-12, 06:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Changing ovens out with different requirements

I have a electric pizza oven that Im swapping out for a gas conveyor oven. The electric oven has a 50amp breaker and uses a 50 amp plug. The gas oven is rated at 15amps. Can I swap plugs and replace the 50 amp breaker with a double pole 15amp breaker. Is there any harm in this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-20-12, 07:36 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
The gas oven is rated at 15amps. Can I swap plugs and replace the 50 amp breaker with a double pole 15amp breaker.
Does the gas oven need 120V or 240V?
 
  #3  
Old 05-20-12, 07:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
You'd only need a single pole breaker if the gas oven is 120v. If you are going to 120v you will need a ground wire and a white wire in addition to a hot wire. If you don't have a factory colored white and the wire is #6 or smaller you can't recolor one of the wires white (except in very limited industrial/commercial situations). Best solution if it is 120v is to just use a nearby 120v receptacle.
 
  #4  
Old 05-20-12, 07:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
It's needs 240 to the the blower and conveyor.
 
  #5  
Old 05-20-12, 07:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
The gas oven requires 240.
 
  #6  
Old 05-20-12, 07:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
You will need to reduce the hot wires at the breaker box using #14 0r #12 pigtails. Same for the new receptacle at the oven. You should not change the plug on the oven. Instead match the receptacle to the oven plug.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'