Neutral & Ground Voltage

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-22-12, 09:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Neutral & Ground Voltage

GFCI tripped and would not reset. Replaced this same GFCI about 2 years ago (house is 9 years old). GFCI has 6 outlets - took them all apart and replaced two of them. GFCI still would not reset. Used Greenlee 3 wire outlet tester to ensure outlets were wired correctly. Used Fluke Multimeter to check voltage since you need at least 108V to reset 20A GFCI. Hot & Ground showed 122V, Hot and Neutral showed 93V, Neutral and Ground showed 22V. From what I can tell (and I check every outlet in my house) the GFCI outlet is fed directly from the breaker (by the way - checked the breaker - 123V) and only feeds the 6 outlets in my kitchen. Took every outlet apart so that nothing is connected after the GFCI and still only getting a max of 93V. Not sure what to check next but my guess is my neutral connection is either bad or grounded somewhere.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-12, 09:38 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
my guess is my neutral connection is either bad or grounded somewhere.
My guess is that your neutral wiring is either damaged or loose somewhere. Have you checked the termination of the neutral into the breaker?

BTW, when you say
From what I can tell... the GFCI outlet is fed directly from the breaker... and only feeds the 6 outlets in my kitchen.
I'm wondering: do you only have one 20A circuit for small kitchen appliances? Not two?
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-12, 09:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
I have two GFI's in the kitchen - kitchen is basically split in half and they run off of seperate breakers. I tried to check the neutral in the breaker - seemed way too hard to trace the wires and did not want to kill the power to the house (at this time) to investigate further
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-12, 12:29 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I'm confused. If you
have two GFI's in the kitchen - kitchen is basically split in half and they run off of seperate breakers.
then what is
the GFCI outlet [that] is fed directly from the breaker... and only feeds the 6 outlets in my kitchen
doing?
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-12, 01:04 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Looks as if you have a compromised neutral. The voltages you were getting via a digital meter were phantom voltages. Check the neutral at the GFCI and along the path it takes to the breaker panel. If there is junction box somewhere (not likely) check the wiring in it.
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-12, 02:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Just to clarify - the gfi that is out only supplies power to 6 outlets in my kitchen - I have more then 6 outlets which are supplied by the other gfi. After tracing the power from the garage I found the problem outlet which just happened to be outside in my garage - never thought to check the garage. It had a burnt neutral terminal so I replaced it and everything is fixed.

Thanks for your help
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-12, 03:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
Thank you for letting us know the outcome.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'