Old Stove Wiring (Hot/Neutral/Ground) ??

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-25-12, 04:27 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Old Stove Wiring (Hot/Neutral/Ground) ??

Hello and Thanks in Advance! I am replacing an old stove and it only has three wires (not/neutral/ground or black/white/bare). After lots of searching, I have not found out how to connect the new stove which requires two hots. My house was built in 1955. It is 240V on a 50 amp breaker.

Any suggestions on how I can hook up the new stove?
Thanks,
Kevin
 
  #2  
Old 05-25-12, 07:00 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Almost certainly the white is a hot also. The bare is serving as a combined ground neutral. If it is on a two pole breaker that is what you have. You can either convert the stove to 3-wire or best practice run a new 3-wire+ground cable (6-3Nm-b). What size wire in the existing cable? What Size breaker? What is the stoves full load amps?
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-12, 07:27 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,243
Received 109 Votes on 95 Posts
I agree with Ray, you have two hots and a combination neutral/ground.
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-12, 12:56 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great. Yes, it is a double pole breaker (40 amp, not 50 amp like I stated before). It is difficult to size the wire by eye as it is copper stranded.

If I do not run new wire, how do I hook it up to a 3 wire plug? White and black on the hots and put the bare on the neutral?

Kevin
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-12, 01:45 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
As Ray asked,
What is the stoves full load amps?
And, what size breaker does the instruction sheet for your new stove specify?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: