How do I connect these two sets of wires?


  #1  
Old 05-27-12, 04:06 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question How do I connect these two sets of wires?

Here's what I'm working with:


What I need to do is connect these two sets of wires. As far as I can tell, the only "hot" wire is the red one.

We're removing a light switch and need to connect the two sets of wires that were connected to the switch.

Before I removed the switch, the white wires were tied off to each other (not connected to the switch at all), the black wires were on the same pole and the red was on a pole of its own.

I tried connecting white-to-white, black-to-black and left red own its own and everything seemed to work fine (as far as other things on the same circuit), but wanted to make sure that's what I should do first before I made it "official."
 
  #2  
Old 05-27-12, 04:24 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7,458
Upvotes: 0
Received 5 Upvotes on 4 Posts
That sounds correct, keeping the grounds together too.
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-12, 04:36 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Pigtail the blacks to each other so you only have one wire under one screw.

I mis read your OP. you are eliminating a switch. Yes what you propose will work fine. Junction box must be left exposed with proper blank plate.
 

Last edited by chandler; 05-27-12 at 06:46 PM.
  #4  
Old 05-27-12, 07:17 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,841
Received 178 Upvotes on 161 Posts
Are you removing a light too? Evidently the red wire goes to a light or some other switched item, but you didn't say. All I understood you to say was you were removing a switch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: