Installing a pool pump using THWN

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-09-12, 11:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Installing a pool pump using THWN

I am installing a pool pump and convenience plugs for a pool.

I am wondering if I can run regular Romex 12-3 from the panel. Can I use the same common and ground. Then just before I get to the outside I will connect the conduit to a junction box and from there run THWN to the pump with the red wire and then run the black to the convenience plugs. Can I do this? Using the same #12 common and ground?

thanks
Erik
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-09-12, 01:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,045
Are both 120 volts drawing less then 20amps?
 
  #3  
Old 06-09-12, 03:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
both are 120v I will have to check the pump when it arrives to see if it is pulling more than 20A. The other circuit will be for things like a radio or lighting or something.
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-12, 03:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
I can't find the specs for the pump motor, but it needs to be on it's own 20A circuit. So the Red wire will be on its own GCFI breaker and the black will have its own 20A GFCI breaker. I don't know how to figure out how many amps will be drawn on each circuit. Is there a way to know that?
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-12, 04:02 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
IF your installing 1 or 2 GFCI breakers, you can not share the neutral unless you use a 2 pole GFCI breaker. (I just bought one for some floor heat at a cost of just over $100 ) The imbalance will trip them. Run two separate cables.
 
  #6  
Old 06-09-12, 04:33 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Can I do this? Using the same #12 common and ground?
If you're installing the GFCI protection at the end of the line, and you pigtail the neutral, yes. If you're installing the GFCI protection in the panel then, as TI noted, no.
 
  #7  
Old 06-09-12, 05:27 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
What type of pool do you have?? Also, how close will the receptacles be from the pool? Sounds like you will be hardwiring the pool pump? Iím with Tolyn on the two separate circuits!
 
  #8  
Old 06-09-12, 06:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
above ground pool 24' round pool. My town requires the GFI at the breaker so I guess it will be 2 lines. Thanks for the info. Can I run Romex in the house and make junction box right before the wire leaves the house and then convert to THWN?

Thanks a lot for the help.
 
  #9  
Old 06-09-12, 06:53 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
Can I run Romex in the house and make junction box right before the wire leaves the house and then convert to THWN?
Yes. Unless your city does not allow it.
 
  #10  
Old 06-09-12, 07:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
ok i will have to ask at the town hall then. Thanks a lot for all of the help. I really appreciate it.
 
  #11  
Old 06-10-12, 07:41 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
both are 120v I will have to check the pump when it arrives to see if it is pulling more than 20A
The pump is a continuous load and cannot draw more than 16 amps on a 20 amp circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes