G.F.C.I with no grounds

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-18-12, 06:37 PM
bobbi 5's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 42
G.F.C.I with no grounds

Okay, a question for everybody. so how does a G.F.C.I installed in front of some nongrounded outlets protect them if you need a ground to even trip the g.f.c.i
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-18-12, 06:46 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,990
You do not need a ground for a GFCI to work correctly. It measures any imbalance between the hot and neutral wires (or hot to hot if a two pole). IF it detects an imbalance of 4-6mA it will trip.

Definition: A ground fault occurs when electricity travels outside an intended path and tries to get to the ground by the shortest route. IE: through you!
 
  #3  
Old 06-18-12, 08:15 PM
bobbi 5's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 42
how can an inspector test that circuit down the line to make sure it is working.
 
  #4  
Old 06-18-12, 08:47 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
how can an inspector test that circuit down the line to make sure it is working.
The same way you can. Stick a GFCI receptacle tester in it and push the test button. If the LEDs light up in the "correct" pattern and the GFCI trips when the button is pushed, all is good.
 
  #5  
Old 06-18-12, 08:58 PM
bobbi 5's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 42
it wont trip without a ground
 
  #6  
Old 06-18-12, 09:03 PM
bobbi 5's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 42
your tester wont trip without a ground. so if the inspector wants to test it down the line he has to short your hot to ground or is their another tool.
 
  #7  
Old 06-18-12, 10:40 PM
SeaOn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 351
your tester wont trip without a ground. so if the inspector wants to test it down the line he has to short your hot to ground or is their another tool.
True (it want trip), so tell the inspector to use his or her finger to press the test button. If the test button turns off, and kills power to everything connected down stream, then you are good.
 
  #8  
Old 06-20-12, 05:41 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,363
The built-in test button is the only recognized method to test a GFI or AFCI.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'