Remove outlet from switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-01-12, 05:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Remove outlet from switch

Hi,
I have an outlet in my upstairs office and it is wired to a switch in my kitchen. how do I go about removing the outlet from the switch. I want the outlet to be constantly live. I am familiar with basic wiring. Thanks in advance for any help.

Chris
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-01-12, 05:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,644
What is the wiring at the receptacle? are both plug-ins switched or is one always on? What is the wiring at the switch?

Do you have a ceiling light or another receptacle controlled by a switch in the office? Code generally requires one switch controlled light or receptacle so you may need to add one if one isn't present.
 
  #3  
Old 07-01-12, 06:14 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
The code requires a switch controlled lighting outlet in many rooms. Making the receptacle a constant hot may create a code violation. What room is this in?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'