Old 60 amp meter sockets

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-08-12, 08:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Old 60 amp meter sockets

I was at my neighbor's house helping him clean up from storm damage in his yard and I noticed an old meter set up on his garage,it is no longer connected to the POCO lines.It has the service entrance cable ran from the roof where the drip loop used to be,then it goes into the top of the first meter socket,from the bottom of the first,then there's another identicle meter socket connected to it with a nipple.the wires run from the load side of the first one into the line side of the second one,and out to where the fuse panel used to be.Is the old way of commercial metering?I'll post a picture of it later in the week when I finish up in his yard.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-08-12, 09:54 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think it was a separate meter for a water heater, or in some rare cases, lighting.
 
  #3  
Old 07-08-12, 11:05 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
It has the service entrance cable ran from the roof where the drip loop used to be, then it goes into the top of the first meter socket, from the bottom of the first, then there's another identicle meter socket connected to it with a nipple. the wires run from the load side of the first one into the line side of the second one, and out to where the fuse panel used to be.
Interesting. Two meter bases wired in series?

Waiting to see the pictures!
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-12, 01:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll be down there again tonight or tomorrow night,I asked him what the garage used to be,and he said the guy who lived there back in the 50s used to do alot of welding in there.I asked an electrician at work about this set up and he said back then that was how they had demand metering.one meter was for a watt-hour meter and the other one was for a peak use meter.I'll have pictures up soon.
 
  #5  
Old 07-10-12, 04:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  Picture 099.jpg
Views: 2905
Size:  49.3 KBName:  Picture 100.jpg
Views: 1460
Size:  50.3 KB Here are the pictures!
 
  #6  
Old 07-10-12, 07:50 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,057
Received 73 Votes on 65 Posts
My only guess is something was wrong with the first meter socket and they just set another one. I can see the first one appears slugged unless those are fuses.
 
  #7  
Old 07-10-12, 08:12 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,280
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
My best guess is the second socket was for a different rate for special useage and was originally wired from the line side of the top socket, but the special rate was discontinued and all metering was converted to the bottom meter and the top socket was slugged and covered with a blank. I remember seeing a lot of these old sockets like that as remnants of back when water heating was given a special rate. When the power company converted to just giving a water heating credit, one socket would be slugged and blanked off just like the ones in the picture.
 
  #8  
Old 07-11-12, 04:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That could be possible,I was also thinking that the top one with the bypass slugs was an old way of using it as a main disconnect.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: