Hot Tub Installation Questions

Old 07-13-12, 11:56 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hot Tub Installation Questions

Before I start, I want all of you to know that my neighbor is a licensed electrician and will be coming over to do my final connections and to check everything thing out for me. He travels a lot and is a relatively new neighbor so I didn’t want to take advantage of his good will. So, I am trying to get all of the materials, dig the trench and lay the pipe, get the box mounted, etc. to help as much as I can. He is out of town for the next week so I was hoping I could get some direction from this forum in the meantime. I am also an engineer by training and really like to learn new things and to really understand how my house functions.

Current Situation:
The previous owner of my house had a concrete hot tub pad put in and ran 6 AWG THHN Red, Black, White and Green wires about 80’ in hard PVC 1” conduit from a non-GFCI 50amp Square D Home main panel. They ran a stub about 12” out of the ground about a foot behind the pad. When I bought the house, it had the wires exposed and live. I turned off the power and put an outdoor junction box on the stub.

There is currently no sub or spa panel near the hot tub. Further, the used hot tub that I bought (2004 Jacuzzi J-335) has the steps and controller in the front which is also where the power cabinet is located. The previous hot tub owner had a 6’ run of non-metallic liquidtight from the power cabinet out the front corner to a PVC stub.

FUTURE STATE:

PANEL SIDE