Generator - 110V vs. 120V plugs

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-19-12, 02:56 PM
zachh1020's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beautiful Vincennes, IN
Posts: 215
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Generator - 110V vs. 120V plugs

I own a restaurant. A couple weeks ago, we had a very bad storm that knocked the power out. I purchased a portable generator to hook up a couple coolers and freezers. I plugged one freezer in, and when I went to go plug one of the coolers in (trying to do all of this in the dark) and the plug did not fit into the extension cord. I look down and the plug is a 120V plug with one of the prongs turned horizontal. Needless to say I was rather upset that I did not notice this before hand. Now, so I can prepare for this in the future, do extension cords even exist like this? If not, would it just be easier or even safe/possible to just replace the plug on the cord from the cooler with a 110V plug?

Thanks for any help!
Zach
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-19-12, 03:01 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,391
Received 57 Votes on 54 Posts
This is a 120 volt plug but it is a 20 amp plug, not a typical 15 amp plug and requires a 120 volt, 20 amp receptacle. Whether you can find a cord like this is not something I know off the top of my head.
 
  #3  
Old 07-19-12, 03:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
The plug with the "sideways" blade is for a 20 ampere, 120 volt appliance. (There is no "110" volts unless you really live far back in the sticks, it is all 120 volts nominal and has been for at least fifty years.)

Yes, 20 ampere extension cords DO exist but you won't find them at the local
DIY mega-mart. You will probably have to go to a contractor supply house or perhaps electrical supply house. Be prepared to spend some serious coin.
 
  #4  
Old 07-19-12, 03:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Does your generator have a 20a receptacle? You can make your own cord but if you don't have a 20 amp 120v receptacle (NEMA 5-20R) on the generator then your out of luck. What is the output of your generator in watts? Is there a 30 amp 120v receptacle or a 4-wire 240 volt receptacle?
 
  #5  
Old 07-19-12, 04:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 118
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good advice from Ray. You can pick up a 20 amp exension cord end at any Lowes/ HD. I would use at least a 12 guage extension cord.
 
  #6  
Old 07-20-12, 09:35 AM
zachh1020's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beautiful Vincennes, IN
Posts: 215
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gotcha, sorry for my stupidity in mis-wording the question. :-) Yes, the generator has a 20A outlet. It has 7,000 running watts and 8,750 start up.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: