30 AMP air compressor and NEMA 10-30?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-26-12, 05:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
30 AMP air compressor and NEMA 10-30?

Hi Folks,

Lets assume I have a large air compressor that require a 30amp breaker. Is is okay to wire the motor for use with a NEMA 10-30 receptacle (dryer) which I already have one installed? Or do I really need to use a 6-30?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-26-12, 06:53 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You really need two hots and a ground. The receptacle probably has two hots and a neutral. A neutral really shouldn't be used as a ground. How is the receptacle wired. Does it have a green or bare or is it wired with a white neutral? Is it connected to the panel by continuous conduit so it could be swapped out for a 14-30R? Is it from a subpanel or from the main panel (first OCPD).
 
  #3  
Old 07-26-12, 06:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is wired from a 30amp double pole breaker on a subpanel. I'm not sure about the wiring colors - but i'll look.
 
  #4  
Old 07-26-12, 06:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Should also mention that I have two slots left in the subpanel, so I can add another 30amp breaker and wire whatever is most appropriate. I'm just not sure what is "most appropriate" for a compressor.
 
  #5  
Old 07-26-12, 07:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Grounds should be separated from neutral in a modern subpanel. That is four wires supplying the subpanel. The subpanel will have an isolated neutral and bonded ground. If that is the case with your subpanel I would recommend running a new circuit. You can use 10-2 and remark the white red (or black or any color but white, gray, or green).
 
  #6  
Old 07-26-12, 07:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, I will run a new circuit. Is NEMA 6-30 the best choice?
thanks!
 
  #7  
Old 07-26-12, 08:18 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is NEMA 6-30 the best choice
It or L6-30 is the code compliant choice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: