wiring a light switch that controls an outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-03-12, 08:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
wiring a light switch that controls an outlet

I have a light over my outdoor sink and it has plug. I want to wire a light switch to control an out let so I can turn off the light with out reaching up turning the knob to turn it off. My wife is preety shor and she can not reach the knob.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-03-12, 09:06 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,759
What? I don't understand what you're asking.
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-12, 09:14 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Are you saying the light is plugged into a receptacle and you want to put the side of the receptacle that the light is plugged into on a switch?
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-12, 09:35 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Using a switch to control a duplex receptacle, either one of the two receptacles or both, is not difficult. But first, do you have a place to mount the switch, either by doubling the size of the box the receptacle is in or by mounting a separate single-gang box?
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-12, 09:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
yes box is a 4 gang box, alredy mounted and ready to wire. the light will be plugged into the recepticle and the light switch will control it.
 
  #6  
Old 08-03-12, 09:44 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Break the tab on the brass side of the receptacle.
Leave the white wire connected to the silver side.
Connect the black power in wire to two pigtails.
Connect one of those pigtails to the receptacle brass screw and the other to the switch.
Connect a jumper between the other switch screw and the other receptacle brass screw.
 
  #7  
Old 08-03-12, 09:45 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,759
Ok, now I get it.

Have you wired anything before? This is not complex, you're just creating a switched receptacle.
 
  #8  
Old 08-03-12, 05:18 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,393
No, it isn't hard to do, but it's an outside receptacle.

I have a light over my outdoor sink and it has plug
I'd like to know if the light and receptacle are exposed to the weather? Is it GFCI protected? Does it have a weatherproof in-use cover?
 
  #9  
Old 08-03-12, 09:24 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
yes box is a 4 gang box, alredy mounted and ready to wire.
Is this a wet location or a damp location?
 
  #10  
Old 08-03-12, 11:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Thanks, got it wired. Just having a brain fart as to wire it. Ounce I stop drinking and sobbered up it was crystal clear, just kidding. The switch is just a control to shut off the power to the outlet. just wired black from power source to the top of the switch and to a black wire and wired it to the outlet and took the white coming in from power source to the outlet and tied all the ground wires together checked my out with a circuit tester and everything was wired correctly. And yes it is in water proof box which I do not need because it is under a cover and has a GFCI as well.
 
  #11  
Old 08-04-12, 06:34 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,393
it is in water proof box which I do not need because it is under a cover and has a GFCI as well.
That would most likely be considered a damp location. Is it all wired in conduit? Could also be done with UF cable, but NM cable would not be allowed.
 
  #12  
Old 08-05-12, 07:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Every thing I do outside is always run conduit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes