What to do about a election Range outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-04-12, 09:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 138
What to do about a election Range outlet

So I got a gas range to replace my electric one, but when I slid it back, it wouldnt go against the wall bc the outlet for the elctric range, which is on the floor is in the way. What would be the best way to take care of this? Do I just put some wire nuts on the wires and cover it with a plate?

I wanna make sure I do this right since its on the floor and near a gas line!


Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-04-12, 10:55 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Can you access the cable from below the floor? Is this the type of receptacle you have?
Name:  range-receptacle.jpg
Views: 859
Size:  5.0 KB
 
  #3  
Old 08-04-12, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 138
It's a surface mount switch. I'll have to take a pic when I get home.
( can't figure out how to do it from my phone)


Thx
 
  #4  
Old 08-04-12, 01:10 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
You mean something like this?
Name:  WEB_G32-595cl_EPS.jpg
Views: 286
Size:  7.3 KB
Image source: Johnston Supply.
 
  #5  
Old 08-04-12, 03:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 138
Looks pretty much like that without the cover.
 
  #6  
Old 08-04-12, 04:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 138
Name:  photo (1).jpg
Views: 378
Size:  50.4 KB

This is a picture of it. Hopefully it's good enough to give some useful information.
 
  #7  
Old 08-04-12, 05:01 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
You might be able to pull the cable below the floor and put it into a junction box with an accessible cover.

How much does the receptacle need to move?
 
  #8  
Old 08-04-12, 05:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: usa
Posts: 138
about 2.5inches.

I was thinking about that as an option. I also read somewhere that you have to worry about the ground. I was just thinking of putting it in a plastic box, putting electral tape on exposed ends, then wire nuts on to (to be extra safe), getting a cover plate for it and nail it to the joist underneath.

Regardless I'm keeping the breaker off, but in case I get hit by a bus or something, I dont want someone to get hurt if they turn the breaker on.
 
  #9  
Old 08-04-12, 05:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
@ PCBoss would a pancake box be too small for three caped #6 wires(+ground)? I'm thinking if he doesn't have access below he could use a surface mount pancake box.
 
  #10  
Old 08-04-12, 05:51 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
A pancake box is way too small. A pancake only has around 6-8 cubic inches in capacity. A #6 is 5 cubic inches per conductor.
 
  #11  
Old 08-04-12, 06:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Well that is what I get for writing without researching first. Finally found the factor for #6 but you beat me to it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'